SC 250 Logo

Commission Members

Chairman Charles B. Baxley

Chairman Charles B. Baxley is a veteran attorney at Baxley, Wells and Benson, which operates out of Lugoff, South Carolina. While also having served as a magistrate judge for the City of Camden, South Carolina and Adjunct Professor of Law, Chairman Baxley is the editor and publisher of a respected online historical journal, Southern Campaigns of the American Revolution. Among many other awards and recognitions, Chairman Baxley is a recipient of South Carolina’s highest civilian honor, the Order of the Palmetto.

Vice Chairman Bill Davies

Mr. Davies’ background stretches across all walks of South Carolina history having served on the Board of Managers for the South Carolina Historical Society and as President of the South Carolina Department of Archives and History Foundation. Along with his numerous accomplishments otherwise, his experience as President of the Palmetto State Military History Foundation will provide invaluable historical perspectives and talents to the Commission.

Secretary Duane Parrish

Mr. Parrish, the current Director of the South Carolina Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism (SC-PRT) is a highly valued member of the commission. With an extensive background in tourism and hospitality, Mr. Parrish has a fresh perspective and provides unrivaled skills and tactics that propels the Commission towards its goal of shedding light on South Carolina’s role American Revolution through tourism.

Chaplain Dianne T. Culbertson

Mrs. Culbertson’s background as both a former primary school educator and Vice President General of the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution make her an ideal choice to serve on the Commission. Her dedication to historic preservation and natural resources in South Carolina will provide an important perspective to the Commission’s efforts to commemorate the American Revolution through physical history and education.

Laurie Slade Funderburk

Ms. Funderburk has a decorated background having served as the Chairwoman of the General Assembly’s Women’s Caucus and on the House Judiciary Committee. Ms. Funderburk  will provide important talents and unique perspectives to the Commission to help it along its way to highlighting South Carolina’s importance in the American Revolution.

State Representative Neal Collins

State Representative Neal Collins is an attorney in Easley and member of the South Carolina House of Representatives. His background serving on the House Education Committee and in the South Carolina government will provide worthwhile knowledge and talents to the Commission’s efforts towards shining a light on South Carolina’s rich history during the American Revolution.

Treasurer J. Brett Bennett

Mr. Bennett’s professional background as the Chief Operating Officer for HealthScape Data, LLC, and his intense knowledge in the areas of general management, strategic planning, operations, and economic development will provide important and necessary skills and talents to the Commission. He is also an amateur Revolutionary Era historian and first-person interpreter.

Dr. A. V. Huff, Jr.

Dr. Huff is the former President of the South Carolina Historical Association and current chair of the South Carolina Commission on Archives and History. His role as Professor of History and Dean at Furman University will also provide irreplaceable skills and talents to the Commission in all facets.

Jannie Harriot

Ms. Jannie Harriot’s background in the preservation of African-American history and culture in South Carolina and her dedication to public education make her contribution to the group intrinsic to success for the Commission’s efforts to restore South Carolina and its  people’s legacy in the American Revolution.

Pam Melton Cazel

Mrs. Cazel’s extensive background in marketing and sales for major Fortune 500 companies coupled with her service to Cherokee County as the Executive Director of their History and Art Museum will provide irreplaceable skills and talents to the Commission. With strong roots in upstate, Mrs. Cazel is poised to be a necessary fixture for the Commission.

updated November 22, 2022

© 2021 South Carolina 250
Website by Lithoco
Bet You Didn't Know!