SC 250 Logo

Local "Committee of 99"

The process of launching a new and independent government in the Province of South Carolina formally began on July 6, 1774 when leading men in South Carolina met in Charlestown. Tired of British officials not meeting their needs, the group elected five delegates to the First Continental Congress in Philadelphia. At that same meeting, they created the Committee of 99, which soon became the "de facto" government of South Carolina.

SC American Revolution Sestercentennial Commission is encouraging each county to create their own "Committee of 99" in their honor.

Sample "Committee of 99" resolution with notes.

© 2021 South Carolina 250
Website by Lithoco
Bet You Didn't Know!